Stormy Days

The title “stormy” sounds negative, but actually stormy days are some of my favorites. Last Saturday was one of those days with menacing dark gray clouds, breaks of bright sun, a passing shower may soak you or miss you entirely, and maybe a little hail storm thrown in. They are ideal for heading out with a camera!

I was driving home from an automotive appointment and rather than take the shorter main highway route, opted for the longer, more scenic route. I was in no hurry to get home as I have been spending extreme amounts of time at home lately. Getting out even for a drive felt good. The weather had turned “unpredictable” which is another word for “stormy.” In typical spring fashion, the skies had areas of dark gray, the sun was shining lighting up the trees, and it was dry. I had to pull over and take a few photos of the beautiful light against the dark skies. Across the street was a small neighborhood with a pond, so I stopped there next.

The ground was squishy after a recent downpour. I must have upset a flock of Canadian geese that had made a home there, as immediately upon my arrival they all took off in a huff, circling overhead in a giant triangle, honking and generally letting the world know of their displeasure. They circled around then came in for a landing back on the pond as if nothing had happened. I wish I had been able to capture the landing of the geese on the water, but it all happened so quickly I only got a few shots. I’m always torn between just watching and being in the moment versus keeping my eye on the viewfinder of my camera and missing the overall experience. I love the sound of geese honking overhead and I must say this short little side trip really made my day!

Leave a comment